HCA Award

Hans Christian Andersen Award – Australian Winners

IBBY Australia nominates Australian children’s authors and illustrators for the prestigious Hans Christian Andersen Awards.  The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children’s books. The award is made to a living author and illustrator whose body of work has made a lasting contribution to children’s literature.

In 1986, both Hans Christian Andersen Awards were won by Australians: Patricia Wrightson for writing and Robert Ingpen for illustration.


Australian nominees – Hans Christian Andersen Award

  • 1976 Ivan Southall
  • 1978 Ivan Southall
  • 1984 Patricia Wrightson
  • 1986 Patricia Wrightson (writer) and Robert Ingpen (illustrator)
  • 2008 Jackie French (writer) and Shaun Tan (illustrator)
  • 2012 Christobel Mattingley (writer) and Bob Graham (illustrator)
  • 2014 Nadia Wheatley (writer) and Ron Brooks (illustrator)
  • 2016 Ursula Dubosarsky (writer) and Bronwyn Bancroft (illustrator)
  • 2018 David Metzenthen (writing) and Jeannie Baker (illustration)

PDF for download


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: