Ena Noël Award

In 1994, founding president of IBBY Australia, Ena Noël OAM , founded her own biennial prize -the Ena Noel Award – to encourage young emerging writers and illustrators. The name was chosen, not so that Ena’s name would live on, but so that it was apparent to all concerned that she – someone highly regarded in the field – was trying to assist up-and-coming young Australian authors and illustrators for children. The award is a silver medallion designed by the first winner of the award, the Australian Aboriginal writer/illustrator Arone Raymond Meeks.

The Australian IBBY Encouragement Award for Children’s Literature is presented to a young developing Australian writer or illustrator.   Only books by Australian creators published in the two years prior to the particular closing date can be nominated by the publishers for the Ena Noël award.  The nominated creator must be under the age of 35 at the time the title (or titles) for which they are nominated was published.  Any nominated author or illustrator has to be deemed by the judges to be worthy of encouragement.

The award winners:

  • 1994 Arone Raymond Meeks for Enora and the Black Crane (1991)
  • 1996 Sonya Hartnett for Wilful Blue (1994)
  • 1997 Steve Woolman for his body of work
  • 1998 Tohby Riddle for The Tip at the End of the Street (1996)
  • 2000 Catherine Jinks for Piggy in the Middle (1998)
  • 2002 Beth Norling for Cherryblossom and the Golden Bear (2000)
  • 2004 Alyssa Brugman for Walking Naked
  • 2006 Anthony Eaton for Fireshadow and The girl in the cave
  • 2008 Markus Zusak for The Book Thief
  • 2010 Lili Wilkinson for Scatterheart
  • 2012 Amy Barker for Omega Park
  • 2014 Melissa Keil for Life in Outer Space
  • 2016 Kate Gordon for Writing Clementine
  • 2018 Will Kostakis for The Sidekicks

Download as PDF


10 Responses

  1. […] Australia has announced that Lili Wilkinson has won the 2010 Ena Noel Award for her novel Scatterheart. This award for emerging young writers and illustrators has been […]

  2. […] The Ena Noël Award honours Ena Noël, founding president of IBBY Australia and is given biennially as an encouragement award for the emerging, young Australian authors and illustrators of children’s and young adult books. Previous winners are listed here. […]

  3. […] You can find out more about the award here […]

  4. […] in to make the introductions (seriously, read her books!), and Tina from IBBY presented the Ena Noel award, and honour that I’m still pretty stunned to have […]

  5. […] Ena Noël Award (Biennial) The Australian IBBY Encouragement Award for Children’s Literature (Ena Noël Award) is presented to a young developing Australian writer or illustrator under the age of 35. […]

  6. […] Award, and the Prime Minister’s Literary Award. It was also the recipient of the 2014 Ena Noel Award. Her second novel, The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl, was published in September 2014 and […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: