Sydney: author talk featuring James Roy and IBBY Australia AGM

IBBY Australia invites members and interested friends to attend this year’s Annual General Meeting and to hear author

James Roy

winner of the Young People’s History Prize
in the 2016 NSW Premier’s History Awards
speak about One Thousand Hills on
Thursday 27 October 2016
at The Children’s Bookshop, 6 Hannah Street, Beecroft NSW

See the flyer for program and booking details.



Shaun Tan limited edition prints available

Shaun Tan printIBBY Australia is  delighted to offer a special Limited Edition Print, Story Furnace by internationally acclaimed Australian author-illustrator and 2008 Hans Christian Andersen Australian illustrator nominee, Shaun Tan.  These fine art prints in a limited edition run of 200 signed and numbered by the artist are reproduced by Splitting Image printers in Melbourne who offer high quality and accurate Giclee prints using light fast inks on archival papers.  The prints are 210mm (w) x 270mm (h) and the original medium was Gouache on paper.
Cost: $150 (unframed) $15 postage in Australia/overseas on request.  Contact Merchandise Convenor Tina Price on to purchase.  See flyer for more information: ST Limited edition flyer

IBBY Australia AGM

The annual general meeting of the members of IBBY Australia Inc will be held on Tuesday, 18th September 2012, at The Literature Centre (formerly Fremantle Children’s Literature Centre Inc), Old Prison Hospital, cnr Knutsford St and Hampton Rd, Fremantle WA at 7.00 pm. It will precede London Calling, a re-presentation of papers by three Australian delegates at the IBBY Congress, London.
Formal notice of the AGM and its agenda will be sent to members in early August. The AGM will include elections for all committee positions.

Dr Maurice Saxby, AM – Lifetime IBBY Australia Member

Birthdays are often packed with nice surprises, and the NSW April 2nd birthday fling was no exception. Former IBBY president Dr John Foster had flown to Sydney for the International Children’s Book Day afternoon to announce with his usual flair and verve that an honorary lifetime IBBY Australia membership was to be bestowed upon one particular conference participant.  That participant, John revealed, had contributed so substantially to illuminating and promoting Australian children’s literature over the years, particularly through his role on the international IBBY awards jury, that it seemed imperative that he be recognised in this way. And so it was to a thunder of applause that Dr Maurice Saxby stepped forward.   Following a short acceptance speech dappled with delightful memories, Dr Saxby was asked to wield a knife right into the official birthday cake.

Members of IBBY Australia

We look forward to welcoming individual Members for IBBY Australia and institutional Members.  Please join us in showcasing Australian authors and illustrators for young people on the world stage. Cost: Individual $25.00 Institution $100.00

Payment options: Please make cheques payable to IBBY Australia and send to Dr Robin Morrow, PO Box 329, Beecroft, NSW 2119 or Email for electronic fund transfer details.