IBBY Australia Honour Books Annotated List (1962-2018)

This publication presents 48 outstanding books, from Tangara (1962) to The Bone Sparrow and Teacup (2018). Annotations that succinctly place each book in its context, and biographical information about the writers and illustrators, add to the value of this unique resource. It is unique, in that while there are many booklists serving many purposes, this […]

IBBY Australia Honour Books showcase refugee stories

PRESS RELEASE IBBY Australia proudly announces its biennial Honour Books for 2018. Many Australian authors and illustrators for young people have a deep concern for the plight of refugees. It happens that the two books selected, one for excellence in Writing, one for excellence in Illustration, treat themes of migration and the search for a […]

Australian nominees for the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Awards

PRESS RELEASE ANNOUNCING THE AUSTRALIAN NOMINEES FOR THE IBBY 2018 HANS CHRISTIAN ANDERSEN AWARDS FOR CHILDREN’S AND YOUTH LITERATURE IBBY Australia Inc is thrilled to announce that Australian nominees for the prestigious 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Awards are: David Metzenthen for Writing and Jeannie Baker for Illustration. The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest […]

Sydney: author talk featuring James Roy and IBBY Australia AGM

IBBY Australia invites members and interested friends to attend this year’s Annual General Meeting and to hear author James Roy winner of the Young People’s History Prize in the 2016 NSW Premier’s History Awards speak about One Thousand Hills on Thursday 27 October 2016 at The Children’s Bookshop, 6 Hannah Street, Beecroft NSW See the […]

IBBY Australia Ena Noël Award 2016 Announced

IBBY Australia’s Ena Noël Award is an encouragement award for a young, emerging writer or illustrator. The panel of three judges is happy to announce that this year’s winner is: Writing Clementine by Kate Gordon (Allen & Unwin). Year 9 student Clementine Darcy is finding life challenging. Her friends want her to diet and exercise […]

IBBY members and friends in Western Australia

IBBY Australia’s Golden Anniversary Quiz Night is on International Children’s Book Day, Wednesday 6th April 2016 at the Perth and Tattersalls Bowling Club. IBBY quiz night flyer

IBBY Australia Honour Books announced

IBBY Australia proudly announces its biennial Honour Books for 2016. One book is selected for excellence in Writing, one for Illustration, and one for Translation. This is the first time Australia has selected a book in the Translation category. Every two years an Advisory Panel of three children’s literature experts makes the selection from all […]

IBBY Australia AGM – Perth 22 September 2015

You are invited to a special IBBY event and Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, 22nd September at 5.00 pm in the The Great Southern Room, Level 4, State Library of Western Australia Grit and Gumption, Sass and Verve: Learning from Multicultural Picture Book Biographies with Rhoda Myra Garces-Bacsal Myra is the Coordinator of the Masters […]

Australian nominees for the 2016 Hans Christian Andersen Awards Announced

IBBY Australia Inc is thrilled to announce that Australian nominees for the 2016 Hans Christian Andersen Awards are: URSULA DUBOSARSKY (WRITER) and BRONWYN BANCROFT (ILLUSTRATOR). Both are esteemed creators with international profiles. IBBY announced the names of 28 writers and 29 illustrators from 34 countries nominated for these prestigious awards on 30 March at the […]

PRESS RELEASE – IBBY Australia Announces Ena Noёl Award

Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil, Hardie Grant Egmont is the winner of IBBY Australia’s Ena Noël Encouragement Award in 2014. Melissa Keil’s debut novel arrived on the YA scene with a refreshing, individual style which has impressed not only its target audience but also readers across generations. The narrator, Sam, budding horror-filmmaker, has […]