Australian Children’s Laureates announced

IBBY Australia congratulates children’s authors Alison Lester and Boori Monty Pryor as the first Australian Children’s Laureates. Each of them brings a wealth of skill, experience and passion for children’s literature to the role.

From the official website:   ACLA Chair Marj Osborne says, “We are delighted to announce Alison and Boori as our joint inaugural Australian Children’s Laureates for 2012 and 2013. In them we found not one but two incredible individuals with the creative and passionate spirit we were looking for, so we made the unusual but exciting decision to appoint both.” During their appointment Alison and Boori will act as national and international ambassadors for Australian children’s literature and will separately visit every state and territory inspiring young people to tell their own stories.